Gun dealers report shortages of ammunition

See the link above for the article

9mm FMJ

If you haven’t noticed there are empty shelves at all Gun Stores and all the big retailers that carry firearms and ammunition. Sure you will see what looks like a bit of inventory but most is always Shotgun target loads and limited rifle rounds.

Even shopping online gets interesting when you see this listed at the top of every page in the ammo section.

PLEASE NOTE: Our apologies, but due to extremely high demand, some of our suppliers are unable to provide us with reliable shipping dates for some of the backordered items below. As a result, shipment of these items could be delayed beyond the stated availability date. In addition, because some suppliers have indicated they may change our costs without notice, our prices on some backordered products may be subject to change. We remain dedicated to providing you with the highest quality products available at the lowest prices anywhere.

This was at the http://www.sportsmansguide.com/ – This picture above is also from the sportsmansguide.com

I also personally shop at about 5 local Gun shops and they all have very limited supplies as well.  If you want just the personal protection ammo I did find some of that has started to trickle in to the small shops.  I visit my local stores 1 time per week and try to pickup a box of 50 9mm FMJ shells for training and general practice. Today I was able to get 100 9mm FMJ but I bought all they had in stock. I haven’t narrowed down all the ammo types that are had to find but it seems to me FMJ or general purpose ammo for all calibers except .25 auto and .38 are all in short supply. I have also heard that .45 caliber is able to be ordered but is somewhat delayed and limited. I am by no means a gun expert I am only sharing what I know, so forgive me if any of my knowledge of ammunition is lacking in this post.  I did visit the Indianapolis Gun Show and there was plenty of ammo to be purchased but there we no deals to be had. The 2nd problem is ammo is going up in price either due to demand or the fact retailers know they can get more $$$$. My local Dealers here have been about $5 higher on some ammo  so its not terrible, but some cause for alarm in this new economy we are in today.

I have seen little no evidence locally of cleaning supplies and gun parts becoming hard to find (Except AR15 Parts Mainly Lowers) but I do not shop alot for those items either.   I do know for a fact that Walmart is limiting boxes of ammunition to 3 boxes per customer. They said they are getting 1 truck a week but once it came in the first person bought a case or everything they had, so they implemented the limit. Another Store told me they had 9mm ammo but I could only buy a box if I bought a new gun that used it. They said who wants to buy a gun and not be able to buy ammo. I understand that.

My current plan is to buy a box of 50 every few weeks to practice at the range and maybe pickup some good hollow-points once and awhile to keep put back to use when I carry. I also can’t forget to get my Mosin Nagant some 7.62 x 54r surplus ammo.  Boy is that a fun gun to shoot. Great history behind that gun, I did see the local store has ammo for it at $89 for a spam can containing 440 rounds.

One last thought,  some will say why not reload? Well after talking to our local reloading supplier and him telling us and I quote,” I am almost sold out of everything”. So our current situation is effecting people who need reloading supplies as well.

Please share your thoughts on this situation with me, maybe everyone else is seeing something different in their area.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

